Sunday, June 29, 2008

The Four Step Process and the Eightfold Path

In Chapter 3 of my book, Achieve Lasting Happiness, starting on page 65, I describe the Four Step Process for Self-Transformation.

Four Step Process for Self-Transformation:
1. Seek truth
2. Commit yourself
3. Live joyfully
4. Share hope

Recently, when thinking about the Eightfold Path, I noticed an overlap between the 4 step process and the 8 fold path.

The Eightfold Path of Buddhism
1. Right view
2. Right intent
3. Right speech
4. Right action
5. Right livelihood
6. Right effort
7. Right mindfulness
8. Right concentration

Look at how the 4 line up with the 8:

1. Seek truth --> Right view (1)
2. Commit yourself --> Right intent (2)
3. Live joyfully --> Right action (4)
4. Share hope --> Right speech (3)

The top half of the Eightfold Path is universal.

Comparing the Eightfold Path to the Four Step Process illuminates both.


Here is a website on the Eightfold Path

Going through the archives of the Timeless Way Yahoo Group, here are the first 4 posts related to this 4 step process. They are a couple of years old.

1 comment:

Jackye Chan said...

I enjoyed seeing the two put together like that. Thank you for sharing, and writing.